Matthew Quiocho, President James Allen, Vice President Dillon Clark, Secretary Eugenia Bulanova, Treasurer Barbara St. John, Communications Officer





A City of Los Angeles Neighborhood Council Certified 2002

www.centralsanpedronc.org • 1840 S. Gaffey Street, #212, San Pedro, CA 90731 • 310-918-8650 • info@centralsanpedro.org

February 21, 2023

Honorable Mayor of Los Angeles, Karen Bass Honorable Members of the Los Angeles City Council Honorable Members of the Board of Neighborhood Commissioners

## **RE:** Josh Nadel / Board of Neighborhood Commissioners / Commission Appointment CF 23-1200-S6

Whereas, Neighborhood councils are the boots on the ground for LA city government and are often the first place stakeholders turn when having issues; and

Whereas, our service to the City and our communities is on a volunteer basis, but we are elected to our positions representing our communities; and

Whereas, the neighborhood council system was established to give Angelenos a clearer path to have their voices heard in City Government; and

Whereas, the Neighborhood Councils are an advisory body to the Mayor and City Council; and

Whereas, the seven Commissioners on the Board of Neighborhood Commissioners represent the seven diverse geographic areas of the Neighborhood Council System; and

Whereas, the Board of Neighborhood Commissioners makes and oversees policies on behalf of the Neighborhood Council System;

Now, therefore, let it be resolved that the Central San Pedro Neighborhood Council (CeSPNC) requests that all appointments to the Board of Neighborhood Commissioners have a formal feedback process wherein the Neighborhood Councils can provide input on who represents them and their stakeholders, with special consideration given to the feedback from the Neighborhood Councils and Alliances from the appointee's region. Furthermore, we also formally request that the current nominee be withdrawn until such time that Neighborhood Councils have ample opportunity to provide this feedback.

Sincerely,

Matthew J. Quiocho

Matthew J. Quiocho CeSPNC Board President